The like minded academicians and researchers, headed by Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap, eminent Constitutional expert and Former Secretary-General of Lok Sabha, New Delhi, took significant steps to establish the Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India (AGRASRI), on 2 October, 2001, for propagating the ideals and vision of Shri Rajiv Gandhiji towards Panchayati Raj and Nagar Palika Institutions, under the nurture of social activists couple Dr. D. Sundar Ram and Mrs. D. Bharathi Sundar, as Founders of the Academy.

The following is the list of Founder Members of the Academy:
  1. Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap
    Former Secretary-General of Lok Sabha, New Delhi.
  2. Prof. G. Palanithurai
    Rajiv Gandhi Chair for Panchayati Raj Studies, Gandhigram Rural University, Gandhigram, T.N.
  3. Prof. A. Ranga Reddy
    Professor of Economics, Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati, AP.
  4. Prof (Mrs) V.Bhavani
    Professor of Political Science, Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur,AP.
  5. Prof. A. Reddeppa Reddy
    Professor of Public Administration, Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati,AP.
  6. Prof. G. Gurumurthy
    Professor of Population Studies, Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati, AP.
  7. Prof. K. Venkata Narayana Raju
    Joint Director, Dr. BR Ambedkar Open University Regional Centre, Tirupati, AP.
  8. Dr. S. Subramanyam
    Associate Professor, Academic Staff College, Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati, AP.
  9. Dr. D. Sundar Ram (Founder)
    Formerly Reader in Public Administration, Tirupati, AP.
  10. Mrs. D. Bharathi (Co-founder)
    Social Activist, Tirupati, AP.
Application Form for Membership